fade in awards

Compete in seven categories & four formats to win! (Screenplay / Teleplay / Short Film / Web Series)

  • SCI FI

The Fade In Awards were established in 1996 to assist talented new writers and writer/directors with getting recognized within the Hollywood community in order to begin a career as a working filmmaker.

In the last 20 years, the competition has done just that:

$15,000 IN PRIZES!


Dell laptop, $5,000, winning project sent to Hollywood agents, managers & producers.

FIRST PRIZE (in each category):

$1000, script analysis by WGA writer, Waterman fountain pen, winning project marketed to Hollywood agents, managers & producers.
Winners will appear in Fade In, along with press releases to the trades.

Early Bird Deadline

October 31, 2016

Regular Deadline

November 30, 2016

Final Deadline

January 31, 2017


  • Frank Darabont
  • Steven de Souza
  • Scott Frank
  • James Gray
  • Nicholas Kazan
  • Scott Rosenberg
  • Eric Roth
  • David O. Russell
  • Ed Solomon
  • Robin Swicord
  • *Not the competition's judges.


After Jon Bokenkamp entered his thriller Preston Tylk, he signed with ICM, he was hired to write a feature for director William Friedkin, has since directed Tylk and sold his documentary After Sunset to AMC, wrote features for Julia Roberts, Halle Berry (Perfect Stranger), and Angelina Jolie (Taking Lives). Currently, Bokenkamp's hit show "The Blacklist" airs on NBC.

After Josh Gordon and Will Speck entered their short Culture, both signed with ICM, Culture was nominated for an Academy AwardTM and they directed Will Ferrell in Blades of Glory. After Darryl Wimberley entered his noir Kaleidoscope, he signed with ICM. He now has a two-book deal with St. Martin's Press and Kaleidoscope has also been published as a novel.

After George Olson entered his script Tesla, he signed with Endeavor.

After Grant Jerkins entered his project An American Crime, we gave it to Fade In Advisory Board member, Oscar-nominated screenwriter Nick Kazan who, along with writer Terry Curtis Fox, adapted it for the screen. Oscar-nominated director Barbet Schroeder is attached to helm. After Mike Murphy entered his script Clackers, he landed an option and within months began filming. Now titled Javelina, you can look for Murphy's film in theatres later this year.

After Matt Krentz and Vernon Whitlock entered their action franchise, The Blaze Brothers, they signed with APA and landed a deal with American Original Entertainment.

After Frank Baldwin entered his genre film, he signed with the William Morris Agency, landed writing assignments with Sony Pictures and director Sam Raimi, DreamWorks and director Philip Noyce, and Paramount and director Pierre Morel.

After Mike Walsh entered his screenplay, he signed with Ken Sherman & Associates and optioned two projects.

After Howard Kingkade entered his short, Hole in the Paper Sky, the script was produced starring Jessica Biel, Gary Marshall and Jason Clarke. After James R. Rothenberg entered his script, The Last Resort, he signed with Original Artists. After Haven Turleygood entered his genre film Irish, he signed with Endeavor and landed a writing assignment with Arnold Kopelson and another with Joel Silver.

After Matt Healy entered his dark comedy Clay Pigeons, Healy signed with ICM, Pigeons was produced by Ridley and Tony Scott with David Dobkin directing and Healy landed a two-picture deal with Warner Bros.

After Max Mayer entered his drama Adam, he directed and sold the film at the Sundance Film Festival to Fox Searchlight then played in theatres to rave reviews.

After Eric Howell entered his short Ana's Playground, he signed with UTA & Anonymous Content. Now he's shooting his first feature in Paris.
Page 1 | 2